MNN Excellence Awards FAQs

Q: How do I nominate an organization for the Excellence Awards?

A: Complete the nomination form online at by Tuesday, March 10, 2015.

Q: Can I self nominate?

A: Yes.

Q: Can an organization or person be nominated for more than one category?

A: Yes, but separate applications must be completed for each category. Organizations or individuals with more than one application will only be eligible to be selected as a finalist in one category.

Q: Are previous winners eligible to be nominated?

A: Yes. However, previous award winners are only eligible to be nominated after three years has passed since they received the award. This applies to all categories, not just the one in which the organization was awarded.

Q: Are previous finalists eligible to be nominated?

A: Yes. Previous finalists are eligible to be nominated.

Q: Do I or the nominee have to be a member of MNN to nominate/qualify?

A: No. All registered 501(c)3 and 501(c)4 organizations or individuals associated with 501(c)3 and/or 501(c)4 organizations in Massachusetts are eligible.

Q: Are there any limitations on who can be nominated?

A: Organizations at which MNN Board of Director members are employed are not eligible for nomination.

Q: How are the awards judged?

A: Nominations are judged by the quality of the work and impact illustrated within the nomination application. Quantity of applications per an organization does not impact the decision. A panel of nonprofit leaders and experts from across the state reviews the submissions and selects the finalists based on the criteria listed on each nomination form. After the finalists are chosen, the judging panel again reviews each of the finalist nomination forms to choose a winner in each category.

Q: What is the deadline for applying for the Excellence Awards?

A: The deadline for nominations is March 10. Finalists will be announced in April and the winners will be announced at Nonprofit Awareness Day at the State House on June 8.

Q: How are winners and finalists recognized?

A: All finalists and winners will recognized at MNN’s Nonprofit Awareness Day celebration at the State House on Monday, June 8 in the program book and from the podium. The event is attended by 300 nonprofit and business leaders as well as elected officials. The winners in each category will be announced at the event and presented with an award.

There will be press outreach across the state highlighting the finalists and winners.

Q: When did the awards begin?

A: In 2009, the first Excellence Awards were presented at the inaugural statewide Nonprofit Day celebration, a state holiday that was recognized and signed into law by Governor Deval Patrick in 2008. Each year, Nonprofit Awareness Day is celebrated on the second Monday in June.

Q: How many nominations did you receive last year?

A: Last year we received more than 200 nominations, and anticipate even more this year.

Q: Who can attend Nonprofit Awareness Day?

A: Everyone is invited to attend Nonprofit Awareness Day to help celebrate the nonprofit sector and all of the Excellence Award winners and finalists.  Space is limited so register early to reserve your spot.


Contact or 617-330-1188 x281 with any questions.