2020 Nonprofit Excellence Awards FAQs

Q: Can I self-nominate?

A: Yes.

Q: Can an organization or person be nominated for more than one category?

A: Yes, but separate applications must be completed for each category. Organizations or individuals with more than one application will only be eligible to be selected as a finalist in one category.

Q: Are previous winners eligible to be nominated?

A: Yes. However, previous award winners are only eligible to be nominated after three years have passed since they received the award. This applies to all categories, not just the one in which the organization was awarded.

Q: Are previous finalists eligible to be nominated?

A: Yes. Previous finalists are eligible to be nominated.

Q: Do I or the nominee have to be a member of MNN to nominate/qualify?

A: No. All registered 501(c)3 and 501(c)4 organizations or individuals associated with 501(c)3 and/or 501(c)4 organizations in Massachusetts are eligible.

Q: How are the awards judged?

A: A panel of nonprofit leaders and experts from across the state review the submissions and select the finalists based on the criteria listed on each nomination form. After the finalists are chosen, the judging panel again reviews each of the finalist nomination forms to choose a winner in each category.

Q: What is the deadline for applying for the Excellence Awards?

A: The deadline for nominations was March 6, 2020. Finalists will be announced in April and the winners will be announced at Nonprofit Awareness Day: A Celebration of Nonprofit Excellence.

Q: How are winners and finalists recognized?

A: All finalists and winners will be recognized at MNN’s Nonprofit Awareness Day celebration at the State House on Monday, June 15, in the program book and from the podium. The event will be attended by 250 nonprofit and business leaders, as well as elected officials. The winners in each category will be announced at the event and presented with an award. There will also be press outreach across the state highlighting the finalists and winners.

Q: When did the awards begin?

A: In 2009, the first Excellence Awards were presented at the inaugural statewide Nonprofit Day celebration, a state holiday that was recognized and signed into law by Governor Deval Patrick in 2008. Each year, Nonprofit Awareness Day is celebrated on the second Monday in June.

Q: How many nominations did you receive this year?

A: We received more than 130 nominations.

Q: Who can attend Nonprofit Awareness Day?

A: Everyone is invited to attend Nonprofit Awareness Day to help celebrate the nonprofit sector and all of the Excellence Award winners and finalists. Registration will open in the spring.

Contact info@massnonprofitnet.org or 617-330-1188 x281 with any questions.