Late reports for the new Massachusetts Lobbying law are subject to a $50 per day late fee up to 20 days and $100 per day thereafter. These fines may be waived for good cause. The law also sets up a new civil enforcement procedure in the Secretary’s office modeled after the enforcement process conducted by the State Ethics Commission. If the Secretary finds, after a hearing, that a person has violated the law, the Secretary may ordered the person to cease and desist, suspend or revoke his or her license to lobby, and/or impose a fine of up to $10,000. The Secretary’s decision may be appealed to superior court, and if the court finds against the Secretary, the petitioner may be entitled to limited attorney’s fees. The lobbying laws may also be prosecuted criminally by the attorney general or district attorney if there criminal intent. Criminal fines are also up to $10,000 and up to 5 years in prison.
What happens if I don't register or report for the new Massachusetts Lobbying Law?
June 21, 2010 By